Banishing Brassy Blondes

Hello!

So today I thought I’d share my haircare routine and give you a little information on the products that I use to maintain my bleached hair.

I have had bleached hair for around 2 and a 1/2 years now and my gosh is it a pain to maintain. My natural hair is very very dark and no box die was ever able to take to my hair.

The main trouble that people with dark brown hair has when they go blonde is the BRASSINESS. Yes, the first week or so is great with your freshly toned hair but after that, the yellow/orangey tones start to appear.

I have tried a few purple shampoos in a bid to combat this to achieve a more ashy tone to my hair, and I must say I have come across some good and some bad.

Now I don’t use these with every single wash, usually once a week or once every two weeks depending on how my hair looks.

Here are some reviews on the ones that I’ve tried…

John Frieda Sheer Blonde Colour Renew – £5.99

Now this has to be my least favorite out of the ones I tried. Although it states that its ‘tone correcting’ after about five tries there was no difference in my hair tone.

Rating: 1/5

BLEACH London – Silver Shampoo – £6.50

This has to be my second favorite silver shampoo and the one that I am currently using. Again, it is a simple process, leave in for around 5 minutes, wash and BAM! It’s a little bit more pricey but I do think that It works very well. The only downside to it is the dispenser with not pump. It can be quite messy when you’re in the shower but It’s not a huge problem.

Rating: 4/5

Lee Stafford Bleach Blonde Shampoo – £6.99

This one was OK, again I did not see a major difference in the tone of my hair. So it isn’t one that i’d recommend.

Rating: 2/5

Touch of Silver – PRO:VOKE – £1.50

The cheapest out of the bunch and probably the best I’ve tried! It does the job in one wash. It was the first purple shampoo I ever tried and I must say I was skeptical due to the price ‘how can something so cheap work?’ came to mind, and I must say I was pleasantly surprised! Simply leave in your hair for 4/5 minutes, wash and your ready to go! The one thing that may bother some is the smell. Its a strange one, very musky, not the usual herbal essences or minty some may be used to. But if you can put that to one side, then this really is a great product and I would definitely recommend it!

Rating: 5/5

One thing I have to mention is that none of these shampoos appeared to dry out my hair which was fantastic as I expected this is what would happen. This is also without any use of conditioner. I believe all of the shampoos that I have mentioned here all have a conditioner so definitely check them out as they also have a nerutralising effect in them.

I suggest using a serum in your hair after washing, whilst your hair is damp.

Happy Hair Care!

All My Love,

Dev

xoxo

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑